Spring 2011
Instructor: Michelle Schira Hagerman, Ammon Wilcken


During this course I went on an adventure that fundamentally changed the way I teach. I had always been fascinated with the concept of online learning, but had never given consideration to designing complete online learning modules. Through the use of Moodle, I created my first online learning environment. The video that you see above is a reflection on the design, structure, and pedagogical decisions that were made during the construction of that environment.

In the spring of 2011 I was working with 7th grade students in a course called World Studies. It is a course that mashes together  early human civilizations and modern political geography. Something that I learned early on is that completely scripted lessons work really well in an online environment. For three months, my classroom consisted of 25-35 students working 1:1 or 1:2 on netbooks. When students completed one module of study, they were able to move on to the next. The role of the teacher drastically changed, as every student was at a unique location in their studies. I found myself shifting from instructor to troubleshooter/facilitator. With everything clickable, everything was at their own pace. With everything at their own pace, every student was ready to learn because they controlled the delivery. Fun stuff.

In addition to the video tutorial, I kept a developer’s notebook while constructing my learning environment. It is far from polished, as it yields great insight into the development process. Looking back through this notebook has allowed me to reflect on the careful thought and revisionist attitude I took toward improving my work. If you would like to view this notebook in it’s entirety I’ve made it available here.

