As a general rule, I don't let anything take the place of the GLCE's in my planning process. While tools like MC3 help me with pacing and unit organization, content focus needs to be on the standards always. Much as a law never supersedes the authority of the U.S. Constitution. While teaching a unit on East Asia Geography, I decide to anchor my instruction to the two highlighted strands of standard G1.2

As a general rule, I don’t let anything take the place of the GLCE’s in my planning process. While tools like MC3 help me with pacing and unit organization, content focus needs to be on the standards always. Much as a law never supersedes the authority of the U.S. Constitution.
While teaching a unit on East Asia Geography, I decide to anchor my instruction to the two highlighted strands of standard G1.2

 

From here, I can imagine what resources and thought processes will be needed in order for learning to take place.

I take the content specific to the unit, and construct essential questions/learning targets that become the guiding principles of lessons. From there I use various pedagogues to turn questions into lessons. Click on the image below to explore a full fledged lesson:

1

Standard G1.2.4. becomes “Which two countries in the world have the largest populations?”
Standard G1.2.6 becomes “What is a Cartogram?”
These standards take on various incarnations of essential questions depending on the particular unit and sub-unit content, so that standards are addressed incrementally over the entire school year.
In my Main Event portion of the lesson, students actively engage with powerful learning resources through inquiry based strategies (DIQ tree-map) in a learning lab style.
Tying Up Loose Ends is my formal assessment portion of every lesson. In this particular lesson, a quick write helps students to assimilate new knowledge with their own social views to construct hypothetical political policies concerning the relationship of population growth to resource consumption. This enhances the rigor of learning and taps into student interest because they can incorporate their own socio-political views.

