To meet the needs of diverse learners with ranging literacy skill sets I like to engage them with a common primary or secondary source, and then give them tiered learning choices. Like the ones seen in this example. Option A is designed to be a low literacy activity, options b and c add progressively more rigor. In addition, I often record myself reading complex texts such as this one to lighten the cognative load for those who need it. Yet, the embed is easy enough to skip over for those who don't need it. I really feel the power of the online learning format is the executive control that is afforded the learner. This is but one example that shows off that feature.

To meet the needs of diverse learners with ranging literacy skill sets I like to engage them with a common primary or secondary source, and then give them tiered learning choices. Like the ones seen in this example. Option A is designed to be a low literacy activity, options b and c add progressively more rigor. In addition, I often record myself reading complex texts such as this one to lighten the cognative load for those who need it. Yet, the embed is easy enough to skip over for those who don’t need it. I really feel the power of the online learning format is the executive control that is afforded the learner. This is but one example that shows off that feature.

