As of the creation of this post, my role in education is that of a social studies teacher in a face-to-face environment. As a companion to my course(s), I construct classroom websites that serve as my learning management system (LMS), where students can engage in activities directly within the digital space.

My primary objectives are transparency and replay-ability. I wanted to create an environment where parents can share, holistically, in the in-class experience to better equip them to reenforce learning objectives outside of school. I want students who were absent to be able to receive more than just absent “work”. Rather, I wanted to create an environment that would feature a rich learning experience that was similar to the in-class environment. Furthermore, I wanted to create an environment that could be adaptable to individual student needs… offering as much engaging material as I could in hopes that they would guide their own learning in ways that I couldn’t foresee myself.

Below is a screen capture of the home page of the LMS that I created for the 2012-2013 school year.

**UPDATE: I’ve since marked all the 2012-2013 modules as “drafts”, and am rolling out new and improved instruction for the 2013-2014 school year. Please click on the screen capture to visit the digital space so that you can interact with its features.

